A Poem? What Poem Would That Be?

That’s a Matilda movie quote, for those of you who haven’t seen it. It’s my dad’s favorite movie.

I had a productive morning so far. I got up at 5 AM after feeding Mya, and decided to take charge of my life. I’ve decided I want to become a freelance writer.  To think that some people make a living out of just writing about anything and everything? A-mazing.  That would be a dream come true for me.  Work from home, explore different topics, still have time to play with my kids whenever I feel like it.

The problem?

To be a freelance writer you have to actually you know, write. Like real articles and stuff.

Hmmmm…

So I tried to make good on my promise this morning. I signed up for an online magazine article writing class, drafted an article a nursing magazine (put that BSN to some use!) and actually submitted an article to Skirt! magazine.  Impressive, no? I can hardly believe it myself. And all before 8 AM.

Now it is time to get the kids up and dressed and off to church. I think it is promising to be a delightfully warm day and I am inspired and feel spring-y.  Also, I don’t have any more time left to write a blog post, so I’ve decided to leave you with a spring-y poem that I wrote a while back for a poetry contest (the poem won second place. Out of six. Ahem).

Blossoming

The dusty road of yesterday
Wearily passes by
Suddenly—unexpected hope.
Perched upon the grass, a “For Sale” sign swings gently.
Planning, dreaming.

Strolling about the home-to-be
Two apple trees beckon
Laughing, we pluck a taste of fall.
Words fade amidst September’s harvest, a future?
Crunching, wondering.

Cradling an expectant swell
The wind holds a promise
Seated upon the porch, I smile.
A bright April brings apple blossoms and a dream.
Waiting, hoping.

Standing beneath the apple tree
The air is crisp and cool
Warm against my cheek, my daughter.
Overhead the branches mimic a sweet embrace.
Loving, living.


2 responses to “A Poem? What Poem Would That Be?

  • tumbledweeds

    Love the poem! And I’m super impressed by your morning. The complete OPPOSITE of mine. I’m sure you’ll keep us posted about your article submissions. Good luck!

    • Two Tiny Blue Lines

      Thank you. I know I have SO much to learn and a long way to go with any writing, but I am feeling so overjoyed to actually be taking steps towards my goal. I have been talking about it for so long and I am proud and hopeful to finally be taking action!

Leave a comment